Comparison

RotaPulse vs Fatigue360: the honest comparison.

Both build on the HSE Fatigue and Risk Index. That is where the similarity ends.

RotaPulseFatigue360
AlgorithmHSE FRI (RR446)HSE Fatigue Calculator (per their site)
PricingPublished: Free, then £49 / £99 / £199 per month; Enterprise quotedNot published on their site; demo required
Self-serve signupYesNo. Demo required.
Free tierYesNone advertised
SectorsHealthcare, logistics, rail and moreRail-focused
Rail (NR/L2/OHS/003)YesYes
Published methodologyYes - engine, weights, thresholds and stated limitationsNot stated
Compliance dashboardYes - executive KPI view (Starter+)Not stated
Worker score share linksYes - no-login public links (Growth+)Not stated
Suggested rota fixesYes (deterministic solver)Not stated

What Fatigue360 says it does

Their page describes a rail platform for principal contractors, labour supply companies and labour supply agencies. It incorporates the HSE Fatigue Calculator, the 12 and 14 hour rules and NR/L2/OHS/003, and they state it is fully compliant with that standard. It works with MacRail’s own site access products, SAC, the control room, the MacRail app and facial recognition, which feed hours actually worked back into the fatigue record. Pricing is not published; the route in is a demo request.

That is what their page says, and we have not tested the product. If site access, competence and fatigue records need to move through one system, that is a different shape of problem from the one below.

What RotaPulse does

RotaPulse takes a rota, scores every shift, and gives you the assessment and the record of it. It runs in healthcare, logistics and rail. Pricing is published, signup is self-serve, and the first ten workers are free.

Both build on the same published method. RotaPulse implements the fatigue and risk index from HSE research report RR446 directly; Fatigue360 states it incorporates the HSE Fatigue Calculator, which is the HSE’s own build of that method and which the HSE withdrew in June 2021 without replacing.

The difference we would point at is what surrounds the number. ORR does not ask for an index on its own: its guidance asks for a work pattern assessed against its published fatigue factors, with a bio-mathematical tool used alongside them and its limitations understood. RAIB said the same thing more bluntly in January 2026, finding that relying on the fatigue and risk index alone to assess a base roster is not in line with ORR good practice. So RotaPulse publishes its engine, its weights, its warning thresholds, its compliance profiles and the nine things it cannot see, and stamps every stored score with the engine version that produced it. You can show a regulator how the assessment was made rather than asserting that it was.

The other difference is how you get in. Sign up, ingest a rota, see scored results, all without a sales call, an onboarding project or a contract, and there is a live demo you can open now without giving anyone your email address.

Everything stated here about Fatigue360 comes from MacRail’s own published page for the product, read on 8 September 2026, and nothing is inferred beyond it. If any of it is out of date or wrong, tell us and we will correct it. RotaPulse’s column is our own published pricing and documented behaviour. Sources: MacRail, Fatigue360 product page; ORR, Managing rail staff fatigue and Good practice guidelines: fatigue factors; RAIB report 09/2025, buffer stop collision at London Bridge station; HSE Research Report RR446.

Start free. No sales call required.

Up to 10 workers, full scoring engine, no credit card.